As I mentioned on my home page, I watch Leafs hockey. I only started getting into it this starting short season due to my boyfriend watching it, and helping me understand the game. After lots of questions, observations, and explanations, I finally like hockey.
    I like it for the fact I'm always on my toes, the puck being constantly passed from around the toronto goal net, then 3 seconds later its back down to bostons side, shoots, SCORES! Anything can happen, people score all the time, the puck goes up and into the crowd, passed from player to player, then to the other team, it could slam into someones jaw, fights break out, big groups of mosh fights break out where the refs have no control, equipment breaks and gets lost, people fall, get pushed. Its all so surprising, and I don't usually get bored.
    I also like that the teams don't take turns with the ball (puck) which is what it was like when I watched football. You'd have to wait around for something to happen, someone to break free. And when their running down the field ahead of everyone, you know ahead of time their gonna score. With hockey, even though your near the net, there's no guarantee your going to score. And you could shoot the puck from far away, and still get it in! Or it could be intercepted, and taken to the other end. Football in an interception, you stop and the play restarts for the other team.
    The rules were hard to understand at first, and a lot happened in the games that I didn't understand. Like the fact if the puck passes the blue line, everyone has to go back to their side before continuing the play, so every offside that was called I was very confused and asked always what had happened. I'm like that with most penalties, not knowing the official terms used in the game. Soon enough I will know :)
    So if you haven't watched a hockey game, I'd suggest watching the next Boston and Toronto game. Boston won sadly last night 5-2, but toronto won the one before. Overall, the totals are 2-1 Boston in their playoffs. Good luck Maple Leafs, and I hope you readers watch the next one tomorrow on May 8th, 2013. Who do you root for?



Leave a Reply.